Meet Oliver

I grew up on military bases throughout the country, and like all boys, played good guys and bad. Although usually I favored the good, coaxing me into an afternoon of baseball or hiking the Southern California hills didn’t take much, unless a book grabbed me first.

When the time came for rites of passage, Herb and I, my best buddy and roommate in high school, joined a Marine college program. But Herb left school early, even though those were the days of limited options for guys our age. Sometimes things just don’t work out.  A year or so after graduating, I stepped onto a sweaty tarmac not far from where Herb had died.

Thirty guys and I flew days and nights trying to keep the world safe for….well, that’s not really true, is it? The only reason any of us ever went into those mountains at night, scaring ourselves silly was because of other Marines. The phrase “launch emergency medevac” at two in the morning haunts me today. I think somewhere that damn radio is still whispering in the night when the monsoons blow and the clouds hide rocks.

I later traveled on to grad school and spent a while wandering. Lots of us did back then. Some found their way back, others did not. An nice, electric model replaced the old Smith Corona portable typewriter. If you read “Synonymy”, you caught me during that period of my life. There was a novel too, Western Sunrise. I loved the name but don’t think anyone will ever see that book. I wrote at night and taught at an all Navajo high school during the day. I did finally move along and try my hand working for the man and being the man. I flew for a while and even managed a liquor store. Interesting times, A family even came my way, but I never quit writing.  A Zenith and a Mac, and even a few PCs finally supplanted the old typewriters. There’s a Lenovo notebook now that travels with me. I’ve often wondered if the first Smith is in someone’s closet or on the shelf of a thrift store in Bangkok. I guess, I’ll never know.

I scored a publisher for Marsh Island and Blind Marsh a few years ago. The imprint went the way of most nice people in this shrinking, cutthroat industry. Because they were nice folks, I got the rights to my work back. In 2018 both rewritten and revised books, along with a sequel Laureate’s Legacy will be published. I’m very excited by the prospect of seeing old friends do well.

Last year, Levant Mirage found success in the eBook world, and I sign paper copies occasionally at Barnes & Noble.  On April 14, 2017, Camelot Games, a wild and woolly romantic political thriller emerged into a frightening new world.

Bequeathed and Tin Soldiers are both working titles of either completed drafts or electrons zipping around inside my laptop looking for a way out. No fear though, I’ve got their number memorized and it’s 2018 and 2019.

Thanks for checking me out.

All the best,
Ollie

Leave a Reply

